49 replies to this topic

#1 Agatha

Agatha

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 209 posts

Posted 07 June 2014 - 01:13 PM

i am aware that this could be highly controversial. i don't care. i'm just beginning it and will have lots of information to add as we go along. i suggest, however, that this thread could be life-saving and life-changing not just for us, but for everybody. We live in an age when big business has largely taken over the process of putting food in our mouths. Giant corporations such as Monsanto produce countless varieties of so-called food and are also invested in the huge business of "curing" the multiple diseases that we now suffer from, en masse it seems, as a result. Genetically modified food is now available on a world-wide basis. We have no scientific knowledge of how those foods will affect us in the future.

We do know that biological evolution cannot even minimally keep pace with cultural evolution. We do know that diseases such as diabetes are now at 30% to 50% of the population in small communities throughout Mexico (check at your local Clínica del Campo--the numbers are staggering).

i propose that we simply put a stop to it. We should be saving organic seeds for the future. We should be planting and eating organic foods that not only taste better but also protect us and the environment. We need help with this and as the government is unlikely to do so as much as we'd like, we can group together and pull it off. i confess that Mrs Obama's gardening efforts brought tears to my eyes and i just wish that her message had been better spread by the powers that be. We are just at the beginning of what could change the future dramatically.