#1 lencho

lencho

Expert

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 530 posts

Posted 08 August 2015 - 02:21 PM

Hey, y'all--

Dealing with Spanish is a detail for many expats and I'm curious whether any of us here have actually used a trained English-Spanish interpreter for things like doctor's visits or other specialized situations. Are there even any available in Mérida?

#2 ChuckD

ChuckD

Trivia Hall of Famer

• Supporters
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,147 posts

Posted 08 August 2015 - 05:06 PM

There are several that I know of in Merida. I've never used one though

OASIS DEL MAR VACATION RENTALS
https://www.homeaway...-rental/p212447 Progreso

#3 judy

judy

Expert

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 943 posts

Posted 09 August 2015 - 06:54 AM

David at Speak and Spell, in Progreso, helped Jeff and I with a complicated doctor's visit. I was a student of his so he did it as a friend, but I believe he will also accept clients who need a translator.

#4 lencho

lencho

Expert

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 530 posts

Posted 10 August 2015 - 12:03 AM

David at Speak and Spell, in Progreso, helped Jeff and I with a complicated doctor's visit. I was a student of his so he did it as a friend, but I believe he will also accept clients who need a translator.

Thanks. I'm not seeking one, but was curious how folks have been dealing with that detail. I assume most doctors speak at least some English, but maybe not other staff in a clinic; not having to struggle with communication would sure reduce stress and increase options in a lot of situations, not just medical...

#5 CasiYucateco

CasiYucateco

Veteran

• Moderators
  • 3,316 posts

Posted 10 August 2015 - 12:44 AM

There are plenty of attorneys and others who are skilled translators. Most expats have a friend or neighbor who speaks Spanish and English both and there are expats who are known for being helpful in emergency situations. There are expat services like YES and others.